What Risks Did You Take?

It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power” – Alan Cohen

Image

You never know what something might be until you take that chance.

Somehow today revolved around the topic of “taking a risk.” It derived from a simple question, “Do you start something knowing that there is a possibility that it might not work in the end? Or do you just take that risk and see where it might lead?” This past year, I have asked myself similar questions whether it was about my career change, meeting/talking to someone new and changing schools. My process could have been a little easier if I was not scaredI was scared of the unknown. Also, I liked the idea of knowing the end result. If I can picture it, then I will give it try. On the other hand, if I can not see some kind of end result I would be afraid to try it out. So many what if’s or what would happen if I…?? Just too many questions.

“The first reaction is one of fear. It’s not that we fear the unknown. You cannot fear something that you do not know. Nobody is afraid of the unknown. What you really fear is the loss of the known. That’s what you fear.”

Instead of thinking like that, I totally forgot that the whole point of taking the risk is the unknown. That is the adventurous part of it! It is not controllable or predictable. Don’t get me wrong! I am the first to jump at doing anything spontaneous. However, I can also be the first to halt if I see the big, red, flashing STOP sign in my head warning not to do anything drastic.

Maybe because it was my past experiences and my lacked of experiences which affected a lot of my decisions. I was comfortable with the idea of having a career in medicine because I know that there is always a demand in that. Therefore, it was a “go-to” decision. Now thinking back, I made a lot of “go-to” decisions. Choosing a career that was recommended to me by the elders because they have more experienced in life or because I did not want to struggle later in life. I rather be by myself than open up to someone knowing they might move or leave soon. There is that cliché saying, if you got hurt once, you do not want to get hurt again. Or why put all of your eggs in one basket? If there is any factors that is not beneficial, I would rather take myself out of the situation. Is that selfish of me?

As humans, we prefer where we are or we just do not know how to act around change. As I am getting older, I realized that there are so many things I cannot control. Today emphasized that, in certain situations, I have learned to listen to my gut instead of my brain. What if I am missing out on an amazing opportunity, or someone so sweet and genuine that I will never get a chance again? Sometimes, taking that risk or getting out of the comfort zone might open up to new possibilities.

Image

It might turn into something beautiful like this tree.

“Why not concentrate on the now instead of hoping for better times in the future? Why not understand the now instead of forgetting it and hoping for the future? Isn’t the future just another trap?”

3 thoughts on “What Risks Did You Take?

Leave a Reply

